Wake County Detention Center

Raleigh, North Carolina


Norment Security Group, Inc. was awarded an $7.7M contract to furnish and install the detention equipment and security electronics at the Wake County Detention Center in Raleigh, NC.  This  is a state of the art  facility that was designed to offer a better flow of inmate processing and at the same time saving the taxpayers money.  This expansion was funded in part by a $3 million grant offered through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act for energy saving projects.  This Leed-Certified expansion is housed in 532,147 SF and added 50 percent more beds  to a total of 1,984 beds.

Norment Security Group , Inc. provided a security package that included furnishing and installing security hollow metal and mesh, security glass and detention furnishings as well as Airteq pneumatic locking systems and sliding devices.

Norment’s Trentech Division engineered, programmed, and installed the electronic security controls  in the facility. The integrated systems consisted of touchscreen computer stations, PLC locking door controls, CCTV, intercom, paging, card access, UPS power systems, and a video visitation system.  The electronic portion included upgrading the existing building along with new construction.  The existing and new electronics have been integrated into one cohesive system.


normenttrentech-sPicture of Airteq Logo
  • Project Statistics

    Start Date: October 2009
    Completion Date: February 2013
    Construction Budget: $151 M
    Norment Contract Value: $7.7 M
    Final Contract Value: $8.6 M
    Detention Equipment: $5.0 M
    Security Electronics: $3.6 M
    Delivery Method: CMAR
    SQ: 532,147
  • Owner

    Wake County Facilities Design &
    337 S. Salisbury Street
    Raleigh, NC 27601
  • Architect

    Little Diversified Architectural Consulting
    401 Blackwell Street
    Durham, NC 27701

    HDR Architect
    8550W. Bruyn Mawr Avenue
    Suite 900
    Chicago, IL 60631
  • Norment Personnel

    Project Manager: Shawn Huber
    Detention Engineer: Greg Peterson
    Electronics Engineer: Jonathan Johns
    Field Superintendent: Daniel Morris